Aligoté

You are here

Name: 
Aligoté
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Aligoté is a natural cross between Pinot and Gouais Blanc, which appeared in the late 18th century in the Saone valley in Burgundy (F). It is therefore a full-sibling of Gamay, Chardonnay, Melon and other lesser known varieties. Its name could derive from Gôt, an old synonym of Gouais Blanc, its genitor which was once widespread and is now almost extinct. An early grape that is prone to fungal disease, with varying yields depending on the terroir, Aligoté is grown mainly on the Côte d'Or and at Chablis in Burgundy, where it is also used for making kir. In Switzerland, it is mainly grown in Geneva, where it produces wines with a refreshing natural acidity.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Aligoté

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Aligoté
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
L'Aligoté est un croisement naturel Pinot × Gouais Blanc apparu vers la fin du 18ème siècle dans la vallée de la Saône en Bourgogne (F), C'est donc un frère du Gamay, du Chardonnay, du Melon et d'autres cépages moins connus. Son nom dériverait de Gôt, un vieux synonyme du Gouais Blanc, son géniteur autrefois très répandu et désormais presque éteint. Précoce et sensible aux maladies fongiques, avec des rendements variables selon les terroirs, l'Aligoté est planté surtout en Côte d'Or et dans le Chablis en Bourgogne, où on l'utilise également pour faire du kir. En Suisse, on le trouve principalement à Genève, où il donne des vins à l'acidité naturelle rafraîchissante.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.