Arvine

Petite arvine

You are here

Name: 
Arvine
Other appellations: 
Petite arvine
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Indigenous
Origin: 
Switzerland
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
This flagship variety, native to Valais (Switzerland) is mentioned in records dating back to 1602 under the name Arvena, which could mean "upstart, new arrival". This etymology is explained by the fact that it is an orphan variety, as DNA testing has not found any relatives. Its alleged Roman origins cannot be substantiated. Often referred to as Petite Arvine, as opposed to Grosse Arvine which is probably one of its offsprings, Arvine is almost exclusively grown in Valais where it produces dry or sweet ("flétris") wines of international standard, with a citrus aroma and refreshing acidity. Traces of it can also be found in other Swiss cantons, as well as in Valle d'Aosta (I) and in France.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Arvine

Petite arvine

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Arvine
Autres appellations: 
Petite arvine
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Indigène
Origine: 
Suisse
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Ce cépage emblématique du Valais (Suisse) était déjà mentionné en 1602 sous le nom d'Arvena, ce qui pourrait signifier "parvenu, juste arrivé". Cette étymologie s'expliquerait par le fait que ce cépage est orphelin, le test ADN ne lui ayant pas trouvé de parents. Sa prétendue origine romaine ne repose sur aucun argument sérieux. Appelée souvent Petite Arvine, en opposition à la Grosse Arvine dont elle est probablement un ancêtre, l'Arvine est presque exclusivement cultivée en Valais où elle donne des vins secs ou doux ("flétris") de stature internationale, aux arômes d'agrumes et à l'acidité vivifiante. On la trouve aussi en trace dans d'autres cantons suisses, ainsi qu'au Val d'Aoste (I) et en France.

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.