Chardonnay

Clävner

You are here

Name: 
Chardonnay
Other appellations: 
Clävner
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
A natural cross of Pinot and Gouais Blanc, Chardonnay probably originated in Saône-et-Loire (F), where it was recorded at the end of the 17th century. In fact, its ancestry means it is a full-sibling of Gamay, Aligoté, Melon and other less well known varieties, so it's easy to understand how for a long time it was confused with Aligoté and Pinot Blanc. Its name comes from the village of Chardonnay near Mâcon (Burgundy). An early variety which is prone to disease, it needs a well-exposed chalky soil that is not too dry. In Switzerland, it produces wines with highly variable aromas depending on the terroir and the winemaking process, from lime to vanilla butter.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Chardonnay

Clävner

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Chardonnay
Autres appellations: 
Clävner
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Croisement naturel Pinot × Gouais Blanc, le Chardonnay est probablement né en Saône-et-Loire (F) où il est mentionné à la fin du 17ème siècle. Sa parenté en fait un frère du Gamay, de l'Aligoté, du Melon et d'autres cépages moins connus, et permet de comprendre pourquoi il a été longtemps confondu avec l'Aligoté et le Pinot Blanc. Son nom vient du village Chardonnay près de Mâcon (Bourgogne). Cépage précoce et sensible aux maladies, il faut lui réserver les sols calcaires bien exposés, mais pas trop secs. En Suisse, il produit des vins dont les arômes sont très variables selon le terroir et la vinification, allant du citron vert au beurre vanillé.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.